Tigers target Missouri legacy

Wyatt Davis

Wyatt Davis still has two years left of high school football to play but that hasn’t stopped the coaches from reaching out to him the past few days. They’ve seen enough.

Wyatt Davis is a top-100 recruit. He’s also a Mizzou legacy.
Davis, a 2017 offensive lineman from Bellflower (Calif.) St. John Bosco, is ranked No. 54 in the 247Sports Composite and recently landed offers from Missouri and California, adding to a list that already includes blue bloods such as Alabama, Southern California and Oklahoma.

But the Missouri offer stood out a bit to Davis, since his father Duane played for the Tigers as a tight end back in the 1980’s.

“My dad was telling me that Missouri was a special place for him,” Davis said. “He told me when we go up there in the spring, the facilities are just going to blow me away. Whenever he tells me a story about Missouri it’s always a good story. I’m looking forward to going up and seeing how it is.”

By coincidence, Mizzou quarterbacks coach Andy Hill was a teammate of Duane Davis in college.

Wyatt Davis, the No. 7 tackle in the 2017 class, is 6-foot-5, 290 pounds and has impressed early with his ability to block. Davis spent last season as a key piece on a line that protected the nation’s top quarterback in UCLA signee Josh Rosen. Davis said he’d like to see his pulling improve to where he can really stand out on the line.

“I feel like I’m pretty good at run blocking and pass blocking but one thing I feel like I need to work on is pulling,” Davis said. “I can get to the person, but this year I actually want to put some people down. I can get the drive and the push, I just want to have some great blocks this year that stand out.”

Aside from visiting Missouri this spring, Davis also plans on taking trips to Alabama, Oklahoma, Arizona State, Florida and Miami. Davis will visit Cal in two weeks.

http://olemiss.247sports.com/Article/Tigers-target-Mizzou-legacy-36008401

Leave a comment